|Suzdal (in English)
|- Town -|
Domes of the Nativity of the Virgin Cathedral
Location of Vladimir Oblast in Russia
|Town Day||2nd Saturday of August|
|Administrative status (as of September 2013)|
|Federal subject||Vladimir Oblast|
|Administrative district||Suzdalsky District|
|Administrative center of||Suzdalsky District|
|Municipal status (as of August 2009)|
|Municipal district||Suzdalsky Municipal District|
|Urban settlement||Suzdal Urban Settlement|
|Administrative center of||Suzdalsky Municipal District, Suzdal Urban Settlement|
|Head of Town||Igor Kehter|
|Area||15 km (5.8 sq mi)|
|Population (2010 Census)||10,535 inhabitants|
|Population (2015 est.)||9,978 inhabitants|
|Density||702/km (1,820/sq mi)|
|Time zone||MSK (UTC+03:00)|
|Postal code(s)||601291, 601293|
|Dialing code(s)||+7 49231|
|Suzdal on Wikimedia Commons|
Suzdal (Russian: Суздаль; IPA: [ˈsuzdəlʲ]) is a town and the administrative center of Suzdalsky District in Vladimir Oblast, Russia, located on the Kamenka River, 26 kilometers (16 mi) north of the city of Vladimir, the administrative center of the oblast. As of the 2010 Census, its population was 10,535.
Suzdal is one of the oldest Russian towns. In the 12th century it became the capital of the principality, with Moscow being merely one of its subordinate settlements. Nowadays Suzdal is the smallest of the Russian Golden Ring towns with population of just 9978 (2015), but a major tourist attraction. Several of its monuments are listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
The town's history dates back to 1024 and in 1125 Yury Dolgoruky made Suzdal the capital of the Rostov-Suzdal principality. Suzdal began to function as a capital at the time when Moscow was still a cluster of cowsheds. In 1157 Andrei Bogolyubsky moved the capital from Suzdal to Vladimir, from which time the principality was known as Vladimir-Suzdal. Set in a fertile wheat-growing area, Suzdal remained a trade centre even after Mongol-led invasions. Eventually, it united with Nizhny Novgorod until both were annexed by Moscow in 1392.
After a decline in political importance, the town rose in prominence as a religious center with incredible development projects funded by Vasily III and Ivan the Terrible in the 16th century. In the late 17th and 18th centuries, wealthy merchants paid for 30 charming churches, which still adorn the town. Thus Suzdal reached remarkable ratio of churches to citizens: at one point, forty churches for four hundred families.
In 1864, local merchants failed to coerce the government into building the Trans-Siberian Railway through their town. Instead it went through Vladimir, 35 km (22 mi) away. As a result, Suzdal was bypassed not only by trains, but by the 20th century altogether. Furthermore, in 1967 Suzdal earned a federally protected status, which officially limited the development in the area. That is why the place remains largely the same as ages ago – its cute wooden cottages mingling with golden cupolas that reflect in the river Kamenka, which meanders sleepily through gentle hills and flower-filled meadows.
Today, the town operates as an important tourist center, featuring many fine examples of old Russian architecture-most of them churches and monasteries. Although having just under ten thousand residents, Suzdal still retains a rural look with streams and meadows everywhere and chicken and livestock a common sight on the streets, some of which remain unpaved. This juxtaposition of stunning medieval architecture with its pastoral setting lends Suzdal a picturesque charm, and in the summer, artists and easels are a common sight.
Within the framework of administrative divisions, Suzdal serves as the administrative center of Suzdalsky District, to which it is directly subordinated. As a municipal division, the town of Suzdal is incorporated within Suzdalsky Municipal District as Suzdal Urban Settlement.
The only industry in the town is tourism. Suzdal avoided the industrialisation of the Soviet times and was able to preserve a great number of stunning examples of the Russian architecture of the 13th-19th century. There are 305 monuments and listed buildings in Suzdal, including 30 churches, 14 bell towers and 5 monasteries and convents. 79 of them are federally protected buildings and 167 are regionally protected.
In 1992 two of the monuments (Saviour Monastery of St Euthymius and Kremlin with Nativity of the Virgin Cathedral) were included in the UNESCO World Heritage List, together with six other White Monuments in this region.
|№||Name||In Russian||Construction period||Photo|
|2.||Trading Arcades||Торговые ряды||1806|
|3.||Nativity of the Virgin Cathedral||Богородице-Рождественский собор||1222-1225.|
|4.||Assumption Church||Успенская церковь||1719.|
|5.||Resurrection Church||Воскресенская церковь||1720|
|6.||St Lazarus' Church||Лазаревская церковь||1667|
|7.||St Antipas Church||Антипиевская церковь||1745|
|8.||SS Boris & Gleb Church||Борисоглебская церковь||1749(?)|
|9.||St Elijah Church||Ильинская церковь||1744|
|10.||Church of Our Lady of Smolensk||Смоленская церковь||1696-1706|
|11.||Intercession Convent||Покровский монастырь||1364|
|12.||Alexandrovsky Convent||Александровский монастырь||1240(?)|
|13.||Saviour Monastery of St Euthymius||Спасо-Евфимиев монастырь||1352|
|14.||Cathedral of the Transfiguration of the Saviour||Спасо-Преображенский собор||1511-1594|
|15.||Deposition Cathedral||Ризоположенский монастырь||1207.|
|16.||Palm Sunday Church||Входо-Иерусалимская церковь||1702-1707|
|17.||Emperor Constantine Church||Царево-константиновская церковь||1707|
There are four major hotels in Suzdal:
There are also 50 guest-houses with a total number of 700 more rooms. Thus Suzdal has developed an outstanding ratio of about 20 hotel rooms per 100 population (comparing to 0.2 rooms for Russia in general, or 1.6 rooms for USA).
Suzdal has 13 restaurants (with 1429 seats), 10 cafes (305 seats), 11 bars and 73 souvenir shops.
In 1982 Suzdal became the first Russian town to receive "La Pomme d'Or" ("The Golden Apple") - a prize for excellence in the tourism industry, awarded annually by the World Federation of Travel Journalists and Writers (FIJET).
More than 60 movies were filmed in Suzdal and the vicinity. Among them:
According to local historian Yury Belov, in summer 1964 three different feature films (Metel, Zhenitba Balzaminova and Tsarskaya nevesta) were filmed in Suzdal at the same time.
Suzdal is twinned with:
Golden Ring of Russia
Administrative divisions of Vladimir Oblast
Administrative center: Vladimir
|Cities and towns||